Inner Truthiness

Philosopher Steven Colbert of the Colbert report coined the exceptional word, truthiness, which was named word of the year in 2005 by the American Dialect Society, as “truth” that a person claims to know intuitively “from the gut” without regard to evidence, logic, intellectual examination, or facts.

Most of the things we discover as true can be known this way.

But my reason for writing a post about truthiness is not to advocate for intuition, although I favor intuition over empiricism but that is another post on another subject.  I’d like to advocate for the discovery of our inner truth.

I believe that searching for inner truth and trying to live one’s life with eyes wide open and the heart extended is the key to happiness.  Searching for truth takes courage in a relativistic and narcissistic world.  But finding it opens the door to possibility.  This is a key tenet in all of the world’s wisdom traditions.

What can I know about myself that is true?  How can I live my life based on the truth of my being so that I honor my strengths and weaknesses?  How can I eliminate the inauthentic expressions of my being so that I have more creative energy left for my true expression?

When you live more authentically you will also find yourself attracting people who are also living authentically because truth needs an ally.  Truthful expression separates the wheat from the chaff.  So, think deeply and act courageously to discover what is true about you and express that energy for the rest of the world to see.  Become a revolutionary for inner truth and change the world.

Leave a Reply

