Weak-thinking liberals love the ad hominem attack

Some of the smartest people in the United States must have failed a course in moral reasoning.

I will be teaching a course in critical thinking to college freshmen this fall, so I did a little research.

Definition:
ad hominem: (of an argument or reaction) directed against a person rather than the position they are maintaining.

If I oppose gay marriage because I believe it is a slippery slope to social chaos it does not mean I am afraid of gay people.

If I oppose illegal immigration and a chaotic US resettlement policy because I am concerned about the negative impacts of misguided multiculturalism it does not mean I hate immigrants.

If I value Euro-centric traditions and philosophies such as those emanating from the Age of Reason it does not mean I am ethnocentric.

If I believe there are positive and negative race-associated cultural patterns it does not make me racist.

If I believe men and women are different it does not make me sexist.

If I love my country it does not make me an imperialist.

If I speak honestly about any subject it does not make me mean.

We get this when Democrats do it. Some of them are opportunistic sociopaths. They know this tactic works. Some of them are suffering from the delusional thinking that comes from post-traumatic stress disorder, and they really believe this stuff. For others, this repetition is an illogical artifact of their public school educations.

But when Republicans engage in the ad hominem logical fallacy we have to wonder. Are they embarrassed to be associated with “creepy” conservatives? Are they closet liberals? Do they want to be accepted at cocktail parties? Are they afraid of the Shadow within?

Clear thinkers focus on facts and issues. The speak truthfully and assertively. They attack the argument, not the arguer.

Many liberals must have failed a course in moral reasoning. Some Republicans too.

Leave a Reply

